In the Latin Quarter, little twisty streets just beyond the comparatively huge Boulevard Saint-Michel follow somewhat the same routes that they had in the Middle Ages, and retain some of the names. The very straight Rue Saint Jacques started on the other side of the Seine at the Tour Saint Jacques. Pilgrims began their walk to Saintiago de Campostello by taking this route.
|The Tour Saint Jacques|
|The Sainte Chapelle|
|Sainte Chapelle, detail of window|
After crossing from the Ile de la Cite, the pilgrims had to walk past the Jewish quarter of Paris, which was just across the Seine from Notre Dame. In the 19th century, one of many reconstructions of these old medieval areas uncovered the old Jewish cemetery, whose tombstones are now in the Jewish Museum.
|Jewish Tombstone, 1281, excavated from the old Jewish Quarter 19th century,|
image from the Jewish Museum Website
|Filled-in Roman arches at the Cluny Museum|
|Capital from the church of Saint Germain des Pres, Cluny Museum|
|Capital in Saint Germain des Pres, repainted (maybe reconstructed) in the 19th century|
|Notre Dame Cathedral -- gallery of kings, reconstructed in the 19th century|
after destruction during the French Revolution
|Cluny Museum: original head of a king from Notre Dame, discovered during excavations in the 1970s.|